The Care Certificate has had 16 standards since March 2025, from "Understand your role" to "Awareness of learning disability and autism"1. It is for health and adult social care workers in England who join "without any past training or sector experience", and it is a recommended induction framework, not a law2.

The 12 weeks you have heard about comes from the 2015 launch, when new care workers were "expected to get a Care Certificate within 12 weeks of employment"3. The 2025 assessor and employer guide says the learning and assessment in induction "usually takes place over the initial period of employment and is determined by the employer", and the pages of it read for this guide name no number of weeks4. The employer signs it off only once all 16 standards are met2.

What is the Care Certificate, and who has to do it?

Nobody has to by law. Regulation 18 requires staff to receive "such appropriate support, training, professional development, supervision and appraisal as is necessary", and CQC's guidance on it, which providers must have regard to, says they "must ensure that they have an induction programme that prepares staff for their role"; neither names the Care Certificate5. The Care Certificate is a set of induction standards from Skills for Care, NHS England and Skills for Health, "developed for use in England"26.

In adult social care the Care Certificate is aimed at workers "providing direct care" in settings that include residential and nursing homes, domiciliary care, supported living and extra care housing2.

The sources treat 3 groups differently:

  • Regulated professionals. Doctors, nurses, social workers and occupational therapists "do not need to also achieve the Care Certificate"1.
  • Ancillary roles. Receptionists, cooks, drivers, cleaners and finance clerks "do not need to complete the Care Certificate", though you may decide some parts fit their role2.
  • Experienced starters. For someone with previous care experience or a qualification, the FAQ points you to the self-assessment tool to find gaps; you can still ask them to complete the standards2.

Bank and agency workers are not a loophole: CQC regulated providers "have a duty to assess the training needs of all staff new to their organisation"2. The Care Certificate also does not replace your statutory and mandatory training2; that list, topic by topic, is in mandatory training for care workers in the UK.

What are the 16 Care Certificate standards?

Standards 1 to 10 and 13 to 15 have outcomes and lettered criteria, so 13.3c is the third criterion under outcome 3 of Standard 13; Standards 11, 12 and 16 have one outcome each1.

Criteria starting with verbs such as "describe," "explain" or "list" test knowledge, which the assessor guide lets you evidence by discussion, oral or written answers, a small project or multiple choice4. Criteria starting with words such as "demonstrate," "take steps to," "use" or "show" must be observed by the assessor during real work, unless simulation is allowed4.

A few criteria start with verbs in neither list, such as "Ensure," "Report" and "Raise"; the guide does not say how to evidence those, so you choose the method.

#Standard (2025 title)What is assessedTypical evidenceSource
1Understand your roleOwn duties and codes of conduct (1.1), agreed ways of working and escalating concerns (1.2), working relationships (1.3), partnership with others (1.4)Knowledge, plus 1.1c, 1.2d, 1.4c and 1.4d observed14
2Your personal developmentAgreeing a personal development plan (2.1); literacy, numeracy, communication and digital skills, and reflection (2.2)Knowledge, plus 2.2e and 2.2g observed; 2.1c starts "Contribute to and agree", a verb the guide's list does not name, so you choose the evidence14
3Duty of careDuty of care and duty of candour (3.1), dilemmas (3.2), comments and complaints (3.3), incidents, errors and near misses (3.4), confrontation (3.5)Knowledge, plus 3.3a and 3.5d observed14
4Equality, diversity, inclusion and human rightsEquality, diversity, inclusion, human rights, bias and discrimination (4.1); working inclusively and challenging discrimination (4.2); where to get advice (4.3)Knowledge, plus 4.2b (culturally appropriate care) observed14
5Work in a person-centred wayPerson-centred values (5.1, 5.2), mental capacity and consent (5.3), the immediate environment (5.4), raising concerns (5.5), pain, discomfort and emotional distress (5.6), identity and wellbeing (5.7, 5.8)Knowledge, plus "take steps" and "demonstrate" criteria such as 5.4a, 5.6c, 5.7b and 5.8a observed; 5.4b, 5.5a to 5.5c, 5.6a and 5.7d start with "Report," "Raise" or "Ensure," verbs the guide's list does not name14
6CommunicationHow people communicate and how to meet their needs (6.1 to 6.3), confidentiality (6.4), communication methods (6.5), aids and digital tools (6.6)Knowledge, plus 6.5a observed; 6.6a and 6.6b start "Ensure" and "Report", verbs the guide's list does not name14
7Privacy and dignityPrinciples (7.1), privacy and dignity in care (7.2), informed choices (7.3, 7.4), active participation (7.5, 7.6)Knowledge, plus 7.2a, 7.2b, 7.4a and 7.6a observed; 7.2d, 7.4b, 7.4c, 7.6b and 7.6c start with "Report," "Ensure" or "Reflect," verbs the guide's list does not name14
8Fluids and nutritionHydration, nutrition and food safety (8.1); access to fluids (8.2) and food (8.3) in line with the plan of careKnowledge for 8.1; 8.2 and 8.3 are care tasks ("Ensure that fluids are refreshed on a regular basis") whose verb the guide's list does not name, so you choose the evidence14
9Awareness of mental health and dementiaMental health conditions and dementia (9.1), positive attitudes and the social model of disability (9.2), reasonable adjustments (9.3), early signs (9.4), legal frameworks (9.5)Knowledge only; no criterion starts with "demonstrate"14
10Adult safeguardingPrinciples, harm and restrictive practices (10.1), reducing the likelihood of abuse (10.2), responding to suspected abuse (10.3), protecting people locally and nationally (10.4)Knowledge, plus 10.1k (dignity and respect) observed14
11Safeguarding childrenIn social care, "Explain what they must do if they suspect a child, young person (met in any circumstances) is being abused or neglected"; in health, the national minimum training standardsTypically your provider's selected training12
12Basic life support"Complete practical basic life support training that meets the UK Resuscitation Council guidelines"Practical training, simulation allowed; it "cannot be awarded on eLearning or knowledge achievement only"14
13Health and safetyResponsibilities (13.1), risk assessment (13.2), moving and assisting (13.3), accidents and sudden illness (13.4), medication and healthcare tasks (13.5), hazardous substances (13.6), fire (13.7), security (13.8), mental health and wellbeing (13.9)Knowledge, plus 13.3c (move and assist) and 13.6b (hazardous substances) observed; role play or simulation for 13.3c where moving people is not part of the job14
14Handling informationAccessing, recording, storing and sharing information, and reporting a data breach (14.1)Knowledge, plus 14.1c (records "up to date, complete, accurate and legible") observed14
15Infection prevention and controlThe chain of infection, standard precautions, PPE, cleaning, spills, linen and clinical waste (15.1)Knowledge, plus 15.1d (hand hygiene) and 15.1g (PPE) observed14
16Awareness of learning disability and autismTraining "in how to interact appropriately with people with a learning disability and autistic people, at a level appropriate to their role"Your provider's selected training; the Oliver McGowan Mandatory Training is "one way"12

By this guide's count, the standards document has roughly 210 lettered criteria, plus the single outcomes for Standards 11, 12 and 161. None of them carries a time.

How long does the Care Certificate take?

The 2025 framework leaves the length to you. The assessor and employer guide says the learning and assessment in induction "usually takes place over the initial period of employment and is determined by the employer"4.

The 12 weeks is from 25 March 2015, when the Department of Health and Social Care announced the launch: "All new healthcare assistants and social care support workers will be expected to get a Care Certificate within 12 weeks of employment"3.

NHS Employers writes, in an article dated 15 April 2025, that individuals "must complete it within 12 weeks of starting the process"7. That clock starts with the process, not with employment. The advice is also NHS-facing (it points to the NHS Electronic Staff Record), and NHS Employers does not regulate your care home or agency.

None of the 2025 documents read for this guide mentions 12 weeks: the standards, the FAQ and the self-assessment tool in full, and the induction, assessment and supervision pages of the assessor guide1284.

No source read for this guide says how long each standard takes. 3 things come close:

  • Observation. The assessor "may feel that the learner has met the standard after observing them across one span of duty or they may feel they need to carry out further observations"4.
  • Standard 16. The FAQ calls the Oliver McGowan Mandatory Training "one way a provider could evidence completion of Standard 16"2. Tier 1 is "90 minutes e-learning with handbook and a one-hour online interactive session"; tier 2 is "90 minutes e-learning with handbook and a one-day face to face training"9.
  • Domiciliary care. Providers "are expected to assess the competence of the new support worker before they start delivering care out of line of sight of a more experienced colleague", and "Sufficient time should be planned" for it2.

Skills for Care expects the Level 2 Adult Social Care Certificate qualification "to take a new learner around 6-8 months to complete"10.

Who signs off the Care Certificate, and what counts as evidence?

The employer signs off the Care Certificate, and only at the end.

The Care Certificate should not be signed off until the new support worker has completed all 16 of the standards.

NHS England, Skills for Care and Skills for Health, Care Certificate standards updated 2025: Questions and answers, October 20252

The rest of the rules:

  • External learning providers "must not sign and issue the certificate", even where they delivered the training2.
  • If the registered manager in adult social care is absent, the FAQ recommends "the most senior person", such as the responsible individual, a director, a registered nurse or a senior care worker2.
  • The FAQ strongly recommends the national template. You can add your logo to the Word version, "only valid if the Care Certificate logo remains on the top right and your logo appears on the bottom right"6.
  • If a worker cannot complete every standard, you may certificate the parts completed "but must not use the Care Certificate logo"2.
  • Give the worker the certificate with access to their portfolio, and keep "associated records for regulation and audit purposes"2.

Your assessor needs no assessor qualification but "must be competent in the standard they are assessing", which may mean a different assessor for Standard 12; without a relevant qualification, the assessor guide suggests working to National Occupational Standard CLDLD094.

Evidence must be valid, authentic, current, reliable and sufficient, and it is sufficient "when the assessor is confident that the learner has met the standard"4. There is "no requirement for any end testing" and "no maximum number of ‘attempts’"4.

"Certificates of attendance, attendance on study days or eLearning without summative assessment of what has been learnt is not evidence toward achievement of the Care Certificate standards"4. Nor can you assess performance by remote video or live recording where that compromises the dignity and confidentiality of the people receiving care4. To check which training you can move online, see online or face to face care training in England.

One observation can serve several standards; the guide says "You should take every opportunity to assess holistically and proportionally"4. A single observed personal care visit might evidence 7.2b (privacy and dignity in personal care), 15.1d (hand hygiene) and 15.1g (PPE), if the assessor sees all 3.

What changed in the 2025 Care Certificate standards?

The March 2025 update moved the Care Certificate from 15 standards to 1636. The summary of changes lists what moved11:

  • Standard 16 is new, "Awareness of learning disability and autism". Learning disability moved here from Standard 9, and autism was added.
  • Standard 9 became "Awareness of mental health and dementia", and its mental capacity content moved to Standard 5 as outcome 5.3.
  • Standards 1, 2, 6, 7 and 8 got smaller additions, such as career development in outcome 1.1, digital skills in 2.2 and digital communication tools in 6.2 and 6.6.
  • Standards 4 and 10 were renamed "Equality, diversity, inclusion and human rights" and "Adult safeguarding".
  • Standard 15, infection prevention and control, "has been fully revised and expanded", including hand hygiene and PPE.
  • Standards 3, 13 and 14 added duty of candour, personal mental health and wellbeing, and data breaches.
  • Standards 11 and 12: "No changes have been made".

The 2025 standards document titles Standard 1 "Understand your role"; the summary of changes calls it "Understand own role"111. The table above uses the standards document.

The Care Certificate workbooks "have not been updated and will not be replaced", and using them "is not mandatory"2. Before 2025 the last standard was 15, infection prevention and control11, so if your workbook pack ends there, it predates the update.

Is the Care Certificate the same as the Level 2 Adult Social Care Certificate?

No. The FAQ calls them "two different learning products": the Care Certificate standards are "recommended and non-accredited", while the Level 2 Adult Social Care Certificate qualification "is accredited and regulated by Ofqual"2.

Care Certificate standardsLevel 2 Adult Social Care Certificate qualificationSource
StatusRecommended, not accreditedAccredited, regulated by Ofqual2
ContentThe 16 standards"based on the same 16 Care Certificate standards but builds, deepens and consolidates the knowledge and understanding"6
AssessmentYour assessor; you sign it off"requiring observational assessment"; several awarding organizations have had their qualification approved by Skills for Care410
LengthSet by the employer; 12 weeks was the 2015 expectation"around 6-8 months" for a new learner4310
FundingNot statedLearning and Development Support Scheme, for eligible employers and care staff, "up to £1,540 per qualification", continuing for 2026 to 202710

Skills for Care's recommended routes put the qualification after induction: you might enroll a worker "right away" or "wait until the worker has passed their probation period"12. The Level 2 page says the qualification is "now available to eligible non-regulated care staff, over the age of 19 years" and does not define eligible10.

What does CQC say about the Care Certificate?

CQC's current pages read for this guide do not mention the Care Certificate. CQC's Regulation 18 guidance asks for "an induction programme that prepares staff for their role", training needs assessed "at the start of employment", and supervision "until they can demonstrate required/acceptable levels of competence"5. The "Safe and effective staffing" quality statement's best practice list for learning and competency names only the Oliver McGowan Mandatory Training13.

NHS Employers says CQC uses its assessment framework to evaluate induction, and that "using nationally recognised good practice, such as the Care Certificate, is a good way to demonstrate this"7.

In 2015 CQC wrote that providers "should be able to demonstrate that those staff have, or are working towards, the skills set out in the Care Certificate"14, and the government said the certificate "may be actively looked for by CQC inspection teams"3. On 9 October 2026 that CQC news page and the "position on the Care Certificate" page it links to both returned "Sorry, that page isn't available" (HTTP 403), so the live pages could not be read14. This guide could not confirm whether CQC still holds the 2015 position in those words.

Be ready to show what CQC's current pages ask for: your induction program, a training needs check for each starter (the self-assessment tool can feed it), and supervision records up to the point each worker was assessed as competent58. If you run the Care Certificate, the FAQ also says the employer needs to keep "associated records for regulation and audit purposes"2.

The learning disability and autism training behind Standard 16 has its own statutory source, "a requirement introduced by the Health and Care Act 2022" for CQC regulated providers2.

How to do it yourself

Running the Care Certificate in house takes a mapping spreadsheet, a named assessor for each standard (Standard 12 may need a different one), and observation time on real shifts. The free tools: the 2025 standards, the assessor guide, the self-assessment tool, the national template, and the elearning for healthcare Care Certificate program for the knowledge components14862.

  1. Decide who does it. New to care in a direct care role: the full certificate2. Experienced starters: the self-assessment tool before induction, then a professional discussion8. Ancillary roles: only the parts you choose2.
  2. Map every criterion. 1 row per criterion (roughly 210, 1.1a to 15.1j, plus Standards 11, 12 and 16), with columns for teaching, assessment method, evidence reference, assessor and date1. Your mandatory courses "may cover some content", so map them in2.
  3. Name an assessor for each standard. Someone competent in that standard, and a separate assessor for Standard 12 if needed4.
  4. Plan the observations. Pull out every "demonstrate" and "take steps" criterion and group them into real shifts, so one visit evidences several4. If your service is domiciliary, book them before the first visit out of line of sight2.
  5. Collect the knowledge evidence. Discussion, oral or written answers, a small project or multiple choice; elearning counts only with an assessment attached4.
  6. Run Standards 11, 12 and 16 through your provider training: safeguarding children, practical basic life support, and learning disability and autism at the right tier219.
  7. Sign off and file. All 16 standards, the registered manager or the most senior person, the national template, the portfolio to the worker, the records kept26.
  8. Write your timeframe into the induction policy, and what you do when someone cannot meet a standard; the guide leaves that to "Each employer"4.
TaskWhoTime, where a source states it
Self-assessment and professional discussion (step 1)New worker and assessorNot stated8
Mapping (step 2)Training leadNot stated; built once and reused for every starter
Each observation (step 4)Assessor"one span of duty", or further observations4
Standard 16 through Oliver McGowan (step 6)Each worker90 minutes of elearning, plus 1 hour (tier 1) or 1 day (tier 2)9
The whole certificateWorker, assessor, signatorySet by you; 12 weeks was the 2015 expectation43

The 5 mistakes that cost the most

  1. Counting unassessed elearning or attendance certificates as evidence. A file full of them proves nothing toward the certificate4.
  2. Letting the training company sign. External learning providers "must not sign and issue the certificate"2.
  3. Putting the logo on a partial certificate. Partial certificates are allowed only without the Care Certificate logo2.
  4. Sending a domiciliary starter out alone before the competence check2.
  5. Running a 2025 induction from the old workbooks. They predate Standard 16, the move of mental capacity from Standard 9 to outcome 5.3, and the rewritten Standard 15, and keeping resources current is "the owners (e.g. learning provider, employer) responsibility"211.

Questions people also ask

Is the Care Certificate mandatory? No law requires it. The FAQ calls the standards "a recommended tool", and Regulation 18 and CQC's guidance on it ask for appropriate training and an induction program without naming them25.

Does the Care Certificate transfer to a new employer? Partly: the certificate goes to the worker with their portfolio "to support portability", but a new employer "should ensure that any skills and knowledge are current", can use the self-assessment tool to find gaps, and in some cases may require the worker to complete the standards2.

Are there Care Certificate workbooks for 2025? No new ones. The FAQ says the workbooks "have not been updated and will not be replaced"2.


  1. Department of Health and Social Care, NHS England, Skills for Care and Skills for Health, "Care Certificate standards: Updated 2025", March 2025, published on Skills for Care's Care Certificate standards page, read 9 October 2026. https://www.skillsforcare.org.uk/resources/documents/Developing-your-workforce/Care-Certificate/Care-Certificate-Standards/Care-Certificate-standards-March-2025.pdf ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. NHS England, Skills for Care and Skills for Health, "Care Certificate standards updated 2025: Questions and answers for health and adult social care professionals", October 2025, read 9 October 2026. https://www.skillsforcare.org.uk/resources/documents/Developing-your-workforce/Care-Certificate/Care-Certificate-Standards/Care-Certificate-standards-FAQs.pdf ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. Department of Health and Social Care, "Care Certificate launching on 1 April 2015", news story, published 25 March 2015, GOV.UK, read 9 October 2026. https://www.gov.uk/government/news/care-certificate-launching-on-1-april-2015 ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  4. Department of Health and Social Care, NHS England, Skills for Care and Skills for Health, "The Care Certificate standards updated 2025: Assessor and employer guide", March 2025, read 9 October 2026. https://www.skillsforcare.org.uk/resources/documents/Developing-your-workforce/Care-Certificate/Care-Certificate-Standards/Care-Certificate-assessor-and-employer-guide-March-2025.pdf ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  5. Care Quality Commission, "Regulation 18: Staffing", guidance for providers on meeting the regulations, last updated 16 May 2025, read 9 October 2026. https://www.cqc.org.uk/guidance-regulation/providers/regulations-service-providers-and-managers/health-social-care-act/regulation-18 ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  6. Skills for Care, "Care Certificate standards" web page, read 9 October 2026. https://www.skillsforcare.org.uk/Developing-your-workforce/Care-Certificate/Care-Certificate-standards.aspx ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  7. NHS Employers, "Care Certificate", publication date 15 April 2025, read 9 October 2026. https://www.nhsemployers.org/articles/care-certificate ↩︎ ↩︎

  8. Department of Health and Social Care, NHS England, Skills for Care and Skills for Health, "Care Certificate standards Updated 2025: Self-assessment tool", March 2025, read 9 October 2026. https://www.skillsforcare.org.uk/resources/documents/Developing-your-workforce/Care-Certificate/Care-Certificate-Standards/Care-Certificate-self-assessment-tool-March-2025.pdf ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  9. Department of Health and Social Care, "The Oliver McGowan code of practice on statutory learning disability and autism training", presented to Parliament 19 June 2025, final from 6 September 2025, applies to England, read 9 October 2026. https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/oliver-mcgowan-code-of-practice ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  10. Skills for Care, "Level 2 Adult Social Care Certificate qualification" web page, read 9 October 2026. https://www.skillsforcare.org.uk/Developing-your-workforce/Level-2-Adult-Social-Care-Certificate-qualification.aspx ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  11. Skills for Care, "Summary of updates to Care Certificate standards 2025", March 2025, read 9 October 2026. https://www.skillsforcare.org.uk/resources/documents/Developing-your-workforce/Care-Certificate/Care-Certificate-Standards/Summary-of-changes-to-Care-Certificate-standards-March-2025.pdf ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  12. Skills for Care, "Care Certificate: recommended routes for adult social care", 2025, read 9 October 2026. https://www.skillsforcare.org.uk/resources/documents/Developing-your-workforce/Care-Certificate/Care-Certificate-Standards/Care-Certificate-recommended-routes-for-adult-social-care-2025.pdf ↩︎

  13. Care Quality Commission, single assessment framework, Safe, "Safe and effective staffing", last updated 22 February 2024, read 9 October 2026. https://www.cqc.org.uk/guidance-regulation/providers/assessment/single-assessment-framework/safe/safe-effective-staffing ↩︎

  14. Care Quality Commission, "CQC welcomes launch of the Care Certificate from April", news story, published 24 March 2015, page last updated 12 May 2022; the live page returned "Sorry, that page isn't available" on 9 October 2026, text read from the Internet Archive copy of 4 August 2024. http://web.archive.org/web/20240804092355/https://www.cqc.org.uk/news/stories/cqc-welcomes-launch-care-certificate-april ↩︎ ↩︎