Export SCORM 1.2 unless your course needs a SCORM 2004 feature and your client's LMS names, in writing, the 2004 edition you would export. All 6 LMSs whose own help pages were read for this guide accept SCORM 1.2 (Canvas and Blackboard once the administrator has switched SCORM on), and so does SCORM Cloud. They split on SCORM 2004: Canvas lists 2nd, 3rd and 4th Edition1, Docebo takes 3rd Edition only and says sequencing is not supported2, Brightspace lists no edition3, Blackboard's administrator page says SCORM 1.2 and SCORM 2004 up to the 4th Edition4, and Moodle and TalentLMS do not support it56.

The latest release is SCORM 2004 4th Edition, from 2009, and ADL, which created SCORM, now recommends xAPI and cmi5 for new e-learning acquisitions4.

Cornerstone, Workday Learning and SharePoint are not in the table. On 9 October 2026, Cornerstone's and Workday's documentation asked for a customer sign in, and a Microsoft Learn search turned up no Microsoft page stating SCORM support for SharePoint. If your client runs one of them, this page cannot tell you whether it supports SCORM, or which version.

Which SCORM versions does each LMS support?

Every row below accepts SCORM 1.2; Canvas lists the 2nd, 3rd and 4th Edition, and Blackboard's administrator page says up to the 4th. Each row comes from the vendor's own help page, read on 9 October 2026, except the Blackboard administrator page, read on 15 October 2026. "Not stated" means that page does not say.

LMSSCORM 1.2SCORM 2004xAPI or cmi5Upload size limitWhat the docs flagSource (page date)
Moodle (core)Yes, since Moodle 2.1Not supported; "some SCORM 2004 packages may appear to work"xAPI (Tin Can) through third-party plugins; cmi5 not namedNo single figure: capped at server, site, course and activity level2004 bugs closed as won't fix; a Rustici plugin connects Moodle to SCORM Cloud for 2004Moodle Docs 5.3, SCORM FAQ (16 April 2024) and File upload size (8 July 2026)57
CanvasYes2nd, 3rd and 4th EditionNot statedNot statedRuns through the SCORM LTI, enabled at account level; not available in beta or test environments; import type is permanentInstructure Guide (25 September 2026, from page data)1
TalentLMSYes, "only supports SCORM 1.2"NoxAPI and cmi5Not statedAICC not supported; a changed package structure on update can break stored resume dataTalentLMS Help (8 September 2026 and 5 March 2026)6
DoceboYes, 4,096 characters of suspend data3rd Edition only, 64,000 characters; sequencing not supportedxAPI (Tin Can 1.0); cmi5 not namedSCORM 1,024 MB; xAPI 2 GBA replacement package must use the same SCORM version; HTTPS content onlyDocebo Help (3 September 2026 and 28 June 2026)2
BrightspaceYes, "compliant"Yes, "compliant", no edition namedIn the newer SCORM solution, xAPI packages play as SCORM objects, but their data is "not accessible from Brightspace"; cmi5 not namedNot statedThe newer SCORM solution needs the Content Service enabledD2L, About SCORM (9 May 2026, from page data)3
BlackboardYes, through the SCORM EngineYes, up to 4th Edition (administrator page)xAPI packages play; no xAPI LRS included; cmi5 not namedNot statedThe institution decides whether the SCORM Engine is on; a progress bar setting is "applicable only in SCORM 2004 4th edition and later content"; grading options are fixed after importAnthology Help, SCORM Packages (14 July 2026, from page navigation data)8; Anthology Help, SCORM Engine, administrator page4
SCORM CloudYesYes, no edition namedxAPI and cmi5Not statedDoes not check strict technical conformanceRustici support (20 February 2025) and test page910

If your client's help page says 2004 with no edition, treat the edition as unknown until you have tested it.

If your client is on Moodle, the Moodle upload guide has the upload steps and the settings that decide completion.

Which SCORM version should you use?

Use SCORM 1.2, and switch to SCORM 2004 only when 2 things are true: the course needs something only 2004 does, and your client's LMS names the edition you would publish. SCORM 1.2 vs SCORM 2004 compares the features themselves.

Run the decision in 3 steps:

  1. Find your client's LMS in the table. If its SCORM 2004 cell says "No" or "Not supported", you are done: export SCORM 1.2.
  2. If the page names editions, match yours. Canvas takes 2nd, 3rd and 4th Edition1. Docebo takes 3rd Edition only2, so a 4th Edition export sits outside what Docebo documents.
  3. Check the feature you need. Sequencing is one reason to pick 2004, and Docebo says sequencing "is not supported by this version"2. At upload, Docebo can turn simple sequencing with linear navigation into platform prerequisites, but it does not manage packages with complex sequencing2.

If your client's LMS only takes 1.2, Rustici documents a workaround: upload the 2004 course to SCORM Cloud, create a Dispatch package, and upload that to the LMS, which Rustici says keeps the 2004 sequencing rules and data tracking9. TalentLMS urges caution with dispatch files, which point to content on an external server: "If any part of this connection fails, learners may experience loading errors or incomplete tracking"6.

What do the vendor pages say, LMS by LMS?

Each vendor attaches conditions that matter as much as the version number. Raise them with your client's administrator before the first upload.

Moodle. Native SCORM 2004 development has stopped, and Moodle's FAQ points instead to a Rustici Software plugin that connects Moodle to the commercial SCORM Cloud service5. Your upload size is not one number: the server, the site, the course and the activity each cap it, and no level can override the one above7.

Canvas. Canvas plays SCORM through an LTI tool that must be enabled in External Apps at the account level; once it is, a SCORM link appears in Course Navigation and packages come in as External Tool Assignment submissions1. Plan your test around 2 lines: SCORM "is not available in beta or test environments of Canvas", and the import type you choose (graded assignment, ungraded assignment or page) "is permanent and cannot be changed in Canvas"1.

TalentLMS. "Currently, TalentLMS only supports SCORM 1.2", with xAPI and cmi5 alongside and no AICC6. To confirm a package is 1.2, the TalentLMS help center says to open imsmanifest.xml and look for the 1.2 schema version6. If your update changes a SCORM unit's structure, stored resume data may no longer match, and learners can land on wrong pages or blank screens until an administrator resets their suspend data6.

Docebo. Docebo is the only LMS here whose page puts a number on upload size: 1,024 MB for a SCORM package, with no more than 15,000 files suggested, and 2 GB for xAPI2. A replacement package "must have the same SCORM version as the previous one", so a course launched as 1.2 cannot become 2004 3rd Edition in place2. For 3rd Edition, Docebo reports the score from cmi.score.raw, not cmi.score.scaled2; check the recorded score on a test attempt.

Brightspace. D2L's page names no 2004 edition3. The newer SCORM solution needs the Content Service; without it you stay on the legacy solution, and if you also use the Brightspace Learning Repository, it "does not support publishing SCORM 2004 content directly from your computer"3. In the newer solution, xAPI packages play as SCORM objects, but their statement data "is not accessible from Brightspace"3.

Blackboard. The institution decides whether the SCORM Engine is enabled; the engine plays SCORM 1.2, SCORM 2004, AICC and xAPI packages, with no xAPI Learning Record Store and basic data in the gradebook8. Anthology's instructor page mentions 4th Edition once, in a progress bar setting8. The administrator page on the SCORM Engine, read 15 October 2026, says the Building Block "supports content that conforms to the SCORM 1.2 standard and the SCORM 2004 4th Edition standard" and that it does not matter "which SCORM 2004 Edition (up to the 4th Edition)" the content uses4. Grading options cannot be changed after import, so set them on your first upload8.

Whether that administrator statement covers Ultra courses, Original courses or both was not found in the pages read for this guide, so if your client runs Ultra, ask the administrator to confirm the edition in writing before you export 2004.

SCORM Cloud. Rustici's hosted player imports SCORM 1.2, SCORM 2004, AICC, xAPI and cmi59. In the steps below SCORM Cloud is your test bench, and Rustici states its limit: "Cloud does not check for strict technical conformance"10.

Which is the latest SCORM version, and is SCORM outdated?

The latest SCORM release is SCORM 2004 4th Edition, from 20094. ADL encourages content developers and producers of distributed learning products who must use SCORM, rather than xAPI or cmi5, to conform with that edition4. SCORM.com dates 4th Edition to March 2009 and calls xAPI and cmi5 "the latest version/next generation of SCORM"11.

SCORM.com says SCORM 1.2 "was VERY widely adopted and is still the industry workhorse"11, and the site's comparison page calls 1.2 "the most widely adopted eLearning standard"12. The table points the same way from your side of the upload: SCORM 1.2 is the only version all 6 vendor pages accept.

SCORM.com adds that SCORM 1.2 had no sequencing specification, so most 1.2 content was produced as "a single monolithic SCO" instead of granular, reusable SCOs11. Sequencing sets the order in which SCOs are delivered4, and a course built as one SCO has no order to set. Neither page says why 1.2 has stayed on top.

ADL says SCORM "is being overtaken by newer, more capable e-learning specifications", and elsewhere on the same page that SCORM solutions "are still in wide use"4. ADL, and the Defense Department instruction DoDI 1322.26, recommend xAPI and cmi5 for new acquisitions4. xAPI vs SCORM covers when that difference matters for your course.

What does "SCORM compliant" on a vendor page mean?

On its own, the phrase means the vendor says so. ADL defines conformance per SCORM version, and the test needs no ADL involvement:

The only criteria for claiming SCORM conformance (to a specific version of SCORM, i.e., SCORM version 1.2) is to pass the corresponding test within the ADL Conformance Test Suite, or the Army-developed conformance test for SCORM 2004 (3rd Edition). These tests are done on an honor system and require no ADL involvement.

ADL Initiative, "Sharable Content Object Reference Model (SCORM)", Internet Archive copy of 13 December 20254

ADL lists 2 stronger labels. A product is a SCORM Adopter once its passing test logs are submitted to ADL and found correct. SCORM Certification came from ADL testing centers and "is no longer offered"4.

If your client's vendor page says "certified", ask when, and by whom.

Moodle names its test: SCORM 1.2 passes the ADL Conformance test suite 1.2.75. D2L's "Brightspace is SCORM 1.2 and SCORM 2004 compliant" names no edition and no test3. The 2 TalentLMS pages read make no conformance claim for the LMS and send you to SCORM Cloud to check packages6.

Your content has the same gap. Rustici says "The CTS is the only definitive way to prove that your content is SCORM conformant", and that SCORM Cloud does not check strict conformance10.

How to do it yourself

This takes about 20 minutes of your time, plus the administrator's reply. You need the LMS help center, the administrator, a free SCORM Cloud trial account10, and 2 test packages, 1 SCORM 1.2 and 1 SCORM 2004 4th Edition. You can find free ones in sample SCORM packages to test an LMS.

  1. Find the vendor's own page. Search the LMS help center for "SCORM" and copy the sentence that names versions, with its date. A university page or an authoring tool's chart is someone else's reading of the vendor page.
  2. Ask whether the switch is on. Canvas needs the SCORM LTI enabled at account level1. Blackboard needs the institution to enable the SCORM Engine8. Brightspace's newer SCORM solution needs the Content Service3. Ask your client's administrator, in writing, whether that switch is on.
  3. Run both test packages in SCORM Cloud. Import, launch, and read completion, pass or fail, score and time10. Rustici's rule of thumb: "If your content doesn’t work in SCORM Cloud, it is probably not going to work in your LMS either"9.
  4. Run the same 2 packages in your client's LMS. Ask the administrator for a course learners cannot see. On Canvas, do not plan this for a beta or test instance, because SCORM is not available there1.
  5. Read the record. Compare completion, score and status in the LMS report with SCORM Cloud's. Docebo warns that checkers like SCORM Cloud implement parts of SCORM that Docebo may implement differently or not at all2. If the records disagree, log the mismatch as a finding about the LMS.
  6. Write it down. Record the version, edition, vendor sentence, its date and your result next to the course source file.
TaskWho does itRough time
Find and copy the vendor sentence (step 1)Course producer5 minutes
Confirm the switch (step 2)LMS administratorTheir reply time; longer if they ask the vendor
SCORM Cloud runs (step 3)Course producer5 minutes
LMS runs and reading the record (steps 4 and 5)Course producer with 1 test learner account10 minutes
Write it down (step 6)Course producer2 minutes

Working estimates for 1 LMS and 2 short packages, not vendor figures; a course with several SCOs takes longer.

The mistakes that cost the most

  1. Reading "SCORM 2004" as every edition. Docebo takes 3rd Edition only2; Brightspace lists none3; Blackboard's administrator page says up to the 4th Edition4.
  2. Trusting a 2004 package that seems to work in Moodle. Moodle's FAQ says some will "appear to work", and bugs reported against SCORM 2004 are closed as won't fix5.
  3. Changing the version or the structure on an update. Docebo will not take a replacement in a different SCORM version2, and TalentLMS warns that a changed structure can strand learners' resume data6. Pick the version before your first upload.
  4. Treating SCORM Cloud as the client's LMS. SCORM Cloud does not check strict conformance10, and an LMS can implement SCORM differently2. Only your client's LMS shows what its report will say.

Questions people also ask

Does TalentLMS support SCORM 2004? No. The TalentLMS help center says the LMS "only supports SCORM 1.2", plus xAPI and cmi56.

Does Canvas support SCORM 2004? Yes: SCORM 1.2 and SCORM 2004 2nd, 3rd and 4th Edition, once the SCORM LTI is enabled for the account1.

Which SCORM version does Brightspace support? D2L says Brightspace is "SCORM 1.2 and SCORM 2004 compliant"; the page names no 2004 edition3.

What is the Docebo SCORM size limit? 1,024 MB per SCORM package, and 2 GB per xAPI package2.

Should you use SCORM 1.2 or 2004 in Moodle? SCORM 1.2. Moodle's FAQ says SCORM 2004 is not supported in Moodle5.

Which is the latest SCORM version? SCORM 2004 4th Edition, released in 2009. ADL now recommends xAPI and cmi5 for new acquisitions4.


  1. Instructure, Canvas LMS Instructor Guide, "How do I import SCORM files as an assignment?", updated 25 September 2026 (date from the page data), read 9 October 2026. https://community.instructure.com/en/kb/articles/660683-how-do-i-import-scorm-files-as-an-assignment ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  2. Docebo Help Center, "Uploading and managing SCORM as training material", updated 3 September 2026, and "Uploading xAPI (formerly Tin Can API) content", updated 28 June 2026, both read 9 October 2026. https://help.docebo.com/hc/en-us/articles/360020128479-Uploading-and-managing-SCORM-as-training-material and https://help.docebo.com/hc/en-us/articles/360020128459-Uploading-xAPI-formerly-Tin-Can-API-content ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  3. D2L Brightspace Community, "About SCORM", updated 9 May 2026 (date from the page data), read 9 October 2026. https://community.d2l.com/brightspace/kb/articles/5400-about-scorm ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  4. Anthology, Blackboard Help for Administrators, "SCORM Engine", modified 25 August 2026 (date from the page's section data), read 15 October 2026. https://help.anthology.com/blackboard/administrator/en/tools-management/scorm-engine.html ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  5. Moodle Docs 5.3, "SCORM FAQ", section Supported Versions, last edited 16 April 2024, read 9 October 2026. https://docs.moodle.org/503/en/SCORM_FAQ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  6. TalentLMS Help Center, "SCORM in TalentLMS: Overview, Setup, and Best Practices", updated 8 September 2026, and "How to work with the supported eLearning protocols (SCORM 1.2, xAPI, and cmi5) in TalentLMS", updated 5 March 2026, both read 9 October 2026. https://help.talentlms.com/hc/en-us/articles/26499696329756-SCORM-in-TalentLMS-Overview-Setup-and-Best-Practices and https://help.talentlms.com/hc/en-us/articles/9651360207132-How-to-work-with-the-supported-eLearning-protocols-SCORM-1-2-xAPI-and-cmi5-in-TalentLMS ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  7. Moodle Docs 5.3, "File upload size", last edited 8 July 2026, read 9 October 2026. https://docs.moodle.org/503/en/File_upload_size ↩︎ ↩︎

  8. Anthology, Blackboard Help for Instructors, "SCORM Packages", modified 14 July 2026 (date from the page's navigation data), read 9 October 2026. https://help.anthology.com/blackboard/instructor/en/course-and-content-management/add-content/scorm-packages.html ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  9. Rustici Software support, "Getting Started: Importing and Testing Content", updated 20 February 2025, and "Can I use SCORM 2004 content in a SCORM 1.2 LMS?", updated 22 October 2019, both read 9 October 2026. https://support.scorm.com/hc/en-us/articles/206163436-Getting-Started-Importing-and-Testing-Content and https://support.scorm.com/hc/en-us/articles/206164166-Can-I-use-SCORM-2004-content-in-a-SCORM-1-2-LMS ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  10. Rustici Software, "SCORM Cloud Testing: The Solution for Testing SCORM Content", undated, read 9 October 2026. https://rusticisoftware.com/resources/test-scorm/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  11. SCORM.com (Rustici Software), "Evolution of SCORM", undated, read 9 October 2026. https://scorm.com/scorm-explained/business-of-scorm/scorm-versions/ ↩︎ ↩︎ ↩︎

  12. SCORM.com (Rustici Software), "The difference between SCORM 1.2 vs. SCORM 2004", undated, read 9 October 2026. https://scorm.com/scorm-explained/business-of-scorm/comparing-scorm-1-2-and-scorm-2004/ ↩︎